Skip to:


Past Symposia

The Best of Virginia Law Review: Celebrating 100 Years

March 29, 2014

On Friday, March 28 and Saturday, March 29, 2014, the Virginia Law Review will host its Centennial Symposium.  In celebration of our 100th anniversary, four panels of distinguished scholars and federal judges from U.Va. and across the country will discuss four of the most influential and thought provoking articles published in the Virginia Law Review.  We hope that the panel discussions will demonstrate the Virginia Law Review's history, continuity, and diversity of intellectual discussion.

Alumni of the Virginia Law Review and all current students are invited to attend the Centennial Symposium. To register for the event, please visit our registration page at

Please check this page for updates and information.  A list of the panel topics and confirmed participants, followed by a schedule for the event, is below.


Anthony J. Bellia, Jr. and Bradford R. Clark, The Law of Nations as Constitutional Law, 98 Va. L. Rev. 729 (2012) 

  • Moderator: Professor Paul B. Stephan (U.Va.)
  • The Honorable Judge Brett Kavanaugh (D.C. Circuit)
  • Professor Anthony J. Bellia, Jr. (Notre Dame)
  • Professor Bradford R. Clark (GW)
  • Professor Carlos Manuel Vazquez (Georgetown)
  • Professor Jean Galbraith (Rutgers-Camden)

Contact: Taylor Steffan,, (973) 919-9626


Fred Rodell, Goodbye to Law Reviews, 23 Va. L. Rev. 38 (1936)

  • Moderator: Dean John C. Jeffries (U.Va.)
  • The Honorable Judge Harry T. Edwards (D.C. Circuit)
  • Professor Mark Tushnet (Harvard)
  • Sarah Buckley (Editor-In-Chief, Virginia Law Review, 2013–14)

Contact: Taylor Steffan,, (973) 919-9626


Michael W. McConnell, Originalism and the Desegregation Decisions, 81 Va. L. Rev. 947 (1995)

  • Moderator: Professor Caleb Nelson (U.Va.)
  • The Honorable Judge Michael W. McConnell (Stanford; Kirkland & Ellis)
  • Professor John Harrison (U.Va.)
  • Professor Alison LaCroix (Chicago)
  • Professor Jamal Greene (Columbia)

Contact: Taylor Steffan,, (973) 919-9626


Ronald J. Gilson and Reinier H. Kraakman, The Mechanisms of Market Efficiency, 70 Va. L. Rev. 549 (1984)

  • Moderator: Professor Michal Barzuza (U.Va.)
  • Professor Ronald J. Gilson (Stanford; Columbia)
  • Professor Reinier H. Kraakman (Harvard)
  • Dean Paul Mahoney (U.Va.)
  • Professor Andrew N. Vollmer (U. Va.)

Contact: Taylor Steffan,, (973) 919-9626


Symposium Schedule

Friday, March 28, 2014

1:30 - 4:30 pm
Registration and Law School Tours
Location: Clay Hall (Law School)
4:30 - 4:45 pm
Welcome Remarks by Editor-in-Chief Trevor Lovell
Location: Caplin Pavilion (Law School)
4:45 - 6:45 pm
Panel # 1: Bellia & Clark, The Law of Nations as Constitutional Law
Location: Caplin Pavilion (Law School)

Saturday, March 29, 2014

8:30 - 10:00 am
Location: Clay Hall (Law School)
10:00 - 11:30 am
Panel # 2: Rodell, Goodbye to Law Reviews
Location: Caplin Pavilion (Law School)
11:45 - 12:45 pm
Location: Scott Commons (Law School)
1:00 - 2:30 pm
Panel # 3: McConnell, Originalism and the Desegregation Decisions
Location: Caplin Pavilion (Law School)
2:45 pm - 4:15 pm
Panel #4 – Gilson & Kraakman, The Mechanisms of Market Efficiency
Location: Caplin Pavilion (Law School)
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Cocktail Reception (drinks & hors d’oeuvres)
Invitees: Panelists, Full VLR Membership, Alumni, Honored Guests
Location: Purcell Reading Room & Purcell Garden (Law School)